FACE GLOSS?! WTF?! Gimmick or Gorgeous? πŸ€”βœ¨πŸ’Ž

Hey Beauty Babes!

You guys know that I love to glow! And if you don’t know, now you know.

When I saw that NYX was releasing a Face Gloss I was initially so skeptical and unsure. It was such a unique product, especially for the drugstore! I wanted to put this product to the test, especially as someone with an affinity for #thatglow.

So beauty babes, we’re about to find out. Is this face gloss forreal? or no deal? does it slay, or nay? Is it the bomb or a con? is it poppin’ or should you not be shoppin’?

Okay okay you get the point. Let’s get started!

Before I give you my two cents, let’s see the advertised use and claims of this product.

The full name is the NYX Cosmetics Dose of Dew Face Gloss and is priced at $9.00

According to the descriptions at http://www.nyxcosmetics.com:

Glisten from every angle with Dose of Dew, our new face gloss that creates a soft, pearly glow for a totally mesmerizing glossy effect. Inspired by the new beauty trend of the β€œwet and glossy face,” this dreamy balm highlighter glides on like silk and sets to a lightweight, dewy finish. In short, it’s the best thing your makeup bag has even seen (and we know it’s seen some good stuff).

So the basic premise of this product is like a glossy balm highlighter.

So firstly, the packaging is very travel friendly. It reminds me of a large lipstick tube. the product itself is shaped like a lipstick bullet too.

img_1479

The texture of this product is very light and thin, but it has a component to it that has slip to it, almost kind of oily, but not in an uncomfortable way.

The color is like a pearly pink shade which I think works on so many skintones. It’s not really like a highlighter so the coloring comes into play differently.

img_1482

This product is really dewy skin in a stick. I love wearing this without foundation, under my highlighter, over my eye makeup, it’s such a versatile product.

When it comes to #thatglow, we all have our own preferences. If you love a natural glow, you will enjoy this. if you only like buh bam shimmery glow, you might not think this is enough.

For me, my glow depends on my mood. But I feel like no matter my mood, I can find some way to use this. if I want a natural face look with no foundation, I’ll use this on my high points alone. If I want a full glam, I’ll use this under my foundation then again under my highlighter for super glow.

Cons? hmmm….

I do have to say this can react badly with powders. I’ve noticed that when I apply this directly over powder foundation it can get muddled up. I have applied it over powder highlighter and the few times I did, there wasn’t a problem. Only once did I notice it start to get muddled up like with the powder foundation. However it doesn’t do that with powder highlighter.

That is probably the only con. I can definitely say that the pros totally outweigh the cons.

What alot of people have asked, is if this is just an illuminator stick with a shmancy name. I mean, is it a face gloss? why is it called that?

I wouldn’t say that it’s an illuminator stick. It definitely gives your skin a more glowy finish than a typical highlighter stick or balm would. the oily texture is what I think gives your face a nice glow.

Does it replace a liquid highlight, for me, it doesn’t. It adds onto as opposed to just replacing.

Would I reccomend this product? Absolutely! I think it’s such a great and easy way to give your skin a natural glowy texture. It really is a unique and diverse product. I would give it a 9 out of 10. For someone with oily skin, I would probably try to see if it would work for your skin type first, since it’s made to give you a dewy texture.

Whenever I get a new product I love seeing what can I use it for? How many different ways can I use this? Can I use this on my earlobes? on my kneecaps? I love getting full use out of products.

This product is definitely versatile. I like using this on my decolletage and shoulders when I wear a shoulderless top, on my calves, and even on the tops of my feet when wearing sandals or flats. It’s very seamless so wearing it on the body doesn’t pose an inconvenience.

For the face, you really can use this anywhere. Obviously you can use it on the cheekbones and high points of your face. I also like to kind of connect the highlight to my eyes for an over all glowy look on no makeup days

If you also want a high intensity highlight and need some more oomph, use the Dose of Dew underneath a powder highlight. Pictured below is the Pixi Glow-y Powder in London Lustre alone on the left, and then intensified with the Dose of Dew on the left.

img_1517

Lips? sure thing! I think this looks so pretty on the lips. i haven’t worn the Dose of Dew over a lipstick, but the way I love to wear this on my lips is applying it on the lips like lipstick, then taking a high shine gloss and applying it over top. I love wearing Covergirl Queen Lipgloss in Premier Pink with it. It pairs perfectly.

In the picture below I have on the Dose of Dew by itself. I totally think you can wear this as a lip product. It’s moisturizing, and it gives your lips a gorgeous glow.

facetune

Alright you guys! That’s all for this post! I hope this made it easier for you decide whether or not you want to buy this product, or if you had no idea about it, now you know!

You can buy this product online at Nyxcosmetics.com or Ulta.com, or you can buy them at Ulta stores.

Keep up with me on social media for makeup posts, news, and my general awesomeness:

Instagram: @SageSlays_ Β Snapchat: @SageCatherineXO Β Twitter: @SageSlays

Stay Fierce!

XOXO, Sage SlaysΒ πŸ’„βœ¨πŸ¦„πŸ’πŸ½

 

Leave a Reply

