Palette Vs. Palette: Covergirl Jewels & Maybelline 24k Nudes Which Should YOU Buy?

Hello eyeshadow blenders!

I am truly a drugstore girl. I kind of have to be since I don’t fully support myself. hay momma! But don’t get it twisted, the drugstore steps it up and we have been seeing new products left and right! But it always comes back to the big question:

IS IT WORTH IT?

Companies always decide to come out with the same kinds of things at the same exact time so it’s always hard to make a choice. Well, hopefully, this will help you decide which palette is worth it, and which one you should leave on the shelf for that girl who told you your $30 highlighter made you look sweaty. Let HER make a wrong move because girl, we know better.


IN THIS CORNER…

We’ve got the newest addition to the Covergirl TruNaked Eyeshadow Palette collections, The Jewels! 8 shades of bold shadows you can get for between $9-12. Weighing in at 6.5g(.23 oz), this palette makes some big claims:

“The baked shadows with smooth, blendable application and rich payout that you love, now in beautiful jewel tones.”

Benefits:

  • 8 shades of perfectly paired jewels
  • Mix and match to create your perfect colorful eye look
  • High pigment eyeshadow, rich color
  • Blendable and buildable
  • Dermatologically tested

AND IN THIS CORNER…

We have the newest Maybelline eyeshadow palette, the 24k Nudes! 12 shades that are a mix of mattes and shimmers in different neutral, bronze, and gold shades, all newly reformulated. You can buy this for between $9-12 as well. Weighing in at 9.6g(.34 oz), this palette is making some big claims for itself:

“Fashioned for flash! This Maybelline 12 shade 24K Nudes Eyeshadow Palette features dazzling colors infused with metallic gold pigments. From sparkling gold and shimmering nude to gilded smoke and aubergine spark, this makeup palette is perfect for creating versatile eye looks.”

Benefits:

  • 12 eyeshadow looks with duo, trio, and quad color combinations
  • Infused with sparkling metallic gold pigments

So I’ve had, and used both palettes for weeks now and before telling you whose the winner, (which was a landslide), Let me tell you how they both did, as well as the pros and cons.

Starting with the Maybelline 24K Nudes palette…


my first impression was that I really love the colors. it’s not a basic nude palette with a creme, a taupe, a metallic shade, a brown, and a black. you have olive, purple, etc. Buying this palette, I was very very nervous. to be very blunt, the nudes palettes are crap. I mean, i’m a pretty crafty makeup user. I can work with a not so great product sometimes but I tried the brights and the blushed nudes and I did not like them. No pigment, chunky, just no bueno. But I was excited to hear they reformulated the shadows.

Are they better than the other palettes? oh yes. Is this a good palette? ehhhh. I don’t reach for this palette. I like the color selection, but the quality is not as good as other palettes I own, that I don’t have to work so hard with.


The mattes in this palette are good. the matte brown surprised me with the pigment. the metallics are so/so, you have to work with them alot to get pigmentation.

All in all, I just am not into this palette as much as I thought, or wanted to be. when it comes to quality, it isn’t as great as it could or should be, so I really just end up going for other shadows. Not even higher end shadows, or palettes even. if you are looking for a good nude drugstore palette I would look for the NYX Avant Pop palette. you get neutrals, as well as other shades like a forest green, lavender, etc. and it’s only a few dollars more.


For the Covergirl Jewels palette, I had a very different experience. having already used a palette from the Trunaked collection, the Goldens,  I knew that this palette wouldn’t be crap. I really loved the goldens. I don’t use it as much now, because i’m always trying out new makeup. It wasn’t my favorite formula. It was very pigmented, but I found that it had a weird texture. almost grainy? like the eyeshadow would almost shift or roll when you put your finger in it. It didn’t affect the swatch of the eyeshadow, except you might pick up solid piece of shadow. Am I making sense?

So anyways, my biggest fear with this palette was that the bold, colorful shades wouldn’t hold up. You know how sometimes you get a colorful palette and some of the really gorgeous shades come out sheer and patchy? UGH!

​​
Thankfully, this palette’s pigmentation was on point! the purple was purple, the blue was blue, the black was black! the pigmentation was truly great and using them gave me no problems. The one little issue would be the unique formulation. it’s not a bad formula. it’s creamy and pigmented. but the texture throws me off. I found that doing two things made them such great shadows. One, is to use a wet brush. it helps the shadow to fuse together, and amps up the pigment. but the most useful thing is the change the way you look at and use these shadows. Use them more like pigments, or pressed pigments. Glitter glue with these shadows, is amazing. But all in all I really like this palette. I still really love using it. I love all the shades, except for “Quartz”. it’s like a pale pink with random glitter in it. mmmh mmh. Not for me.

So for this palette showdown, let’s tally up the score!

Maybelline 24K Nudes Overall Score: C-

Good color selection, but serious lack of pigmentation

Covergirl Jewels Overall Score: B

Good color selection and pigmentation, but points off for a tricky texture

Well, I think we have a winner.

The Covergirl Jewels Palette!

What? Kanye go away! I know you think the Naked Palette is the best palette of all time now leave me alone!

Alright makeup mavens, the proof is in the pigment. I hope this palette faceoff helps you make the right decision in the makeup aisle and keeps you from having to do a declutter anytime soon.

Have a great Black History Month! I leave you with this black history factual tidbit:

Brandy Norwood is a major part of my childhood and life like so many others. I rocked to her music like “The Boy Is Mine” I watched Moesha all over the place, and so much more. But Brandy is also a big black history maker.

She was the first ever Black Cinderella. (Or are you reeeeallyyy as wonderfuuul….)

She was the first ever Black singer to be signed to Covergirl

And the first Black person ever to play Roxie in Chicago on Broadway!

So please you guys thank the trendsetters and history makers who paved the way and please please please PLEASE use black history month, and hell, all year round, to learn about black history and its makers. And if you aren’t black, learn more about your own as well.

Hatred and Intolerance stems directly from Ignorance. Once you educate yourselves and those around you, you allow yourself to be knowledgeable, and more importantly, compassionate regarding the different types of people around you.

Alright. I’ll see you in my next post! XOXO, Sage Slays βœ¨πŸ’‹πŸ¦„

Leave a Reply

