Review: New Wet N’ Wild Products!πŸ’‹πŸ’„βœ¨

Hello my cut crease cuties!

I have been buying makeup per usual and I have had hits, misses, likes, loves, etc. I have so many things to post and share, and I’m excited to start by sharing my full review for some new Wet N Wild products!

Wet N Wild is like one of my absolute favorite drugstore, or probably even overall, makeup brands. they come out with amazing products at low prices. but, with new products, you take a risk of gambling with a bad product. Hopefully, these reviews will help you find some amazing new products when you look for makeup!

One of the first things I saw on the display were brand new cushion matte lip creams

For the past year, I’ve been in a brown, warm toned, orange-esque kind of mood so I wish these came in some brown shades or nudes. But there are 3 colors from what I have seen, a purple, a pink, and a melon shade called Melon Like It Is that satisfied my orange toned needs somewhat. At $4.99, this Mega Cushion Soft Matte Lip Cream has a sponge tip applicator set up at the end of a squeeze tube. The formula reminded me of the NYX soft matte lip creams (mainly because of the name) but honestly, these have a more pigmented product. Sometimes the NYX SMLC can be sheer because of how moussey it is. This however, has a thick, yet comfortable, formula with great pigmentation. it does dry matte somewhat but not all the way.

Swatched below is the shade “Melon Like It Is” which is an orange-coral shade. The other two shades are a bright bubblegum pink and a bright violet. These are $4.99

Now, I always have trouble as a WOC with buying concealer. It’s either too pink, too light, or just creasy and unblendable. Or, the kiss of death for a concealer.

DUN DUN DUNNNNN!

FLASHBACK!

There is nothing like having a super cute makeup look, taking that flash photo on your phone and seeing yourself look like Casper the friendly ghost.

Well, I was really happy about this Wet n Wild Photo Focus concealer. It comes in a shade that is a perfect match for my skintone. “Medium Tawny” that matches with my olive tones extremely well. Plus, it does not crease! I’ve been only wearing this concealer for weeks straight and I never notice any creasing or have a problem blending it in. It is such a nice consistency. Lastly, what really is the cherry on top, is that there is no flashback. This concealer claims to have been tested under 7 different light conditions with no white cast. this I absolutely agree with. I took a photo of the concealer swatched and blended into my arm so you can see for yourself.

It does also claim to be high coverage, but I would say it’s more of a medium coverage product. This concealer costs $3.99 and comes in 6 different shades.

Cushion products have been coming to us from Asia and show NO signs of stopping, now that more and more are hitting drugstore and prestige brands. Wet N Wild took the initiative to go beyond the cushion foundation, and make its way over to cushion contour and highlight! Both cost $5.99. So far, these are the only shades of each, but hopefully, they can come out with more soon!

img_3308

I had to pick these up when I saw them. They didn’t have the highlight on my first trip, so I have had more time testing out to cushion contour. It’s in the shade “Cafe Au Slay” (so cute!) and it is a pretty warm shade, I almost want to call it a bronzer instead. In terms of shade, this does show up on me, but if you were a shade darker this probably wouldn’t work on you, so I really wish that since there is only one shade that they would make it more accessible to women of color. even the highlight has pinky tones which typically works better on fair/medium tones so I hope WnW will consider their melaninated consumer mmkay? mmkay. (snaps in z formation)

Back to the cushion contour. I really like it. it gives me enough to wear I have dimmension and warmth in my face and it looks so seamless and blended. I do prefer a synthetic contour brush as opposed to the applicator inside because it doesn’t allow you to really be precise and detailed it’s just kind of like BLAP BLAP BLAP which is okay for foundation, but not with contour. You could fold the applicator, but the brush works way better for me.

The highlight, which is called “Who’s That Pearl” I don’t like as much as the contour, but I do like it. You can apply this under foundation for a more luminous base, or use it to intensify a powder highlight. on its own? hmmm. If you don’t want a really glowy intense highlight on fleek highlighter, then this may be enough on its own for you, but for me, I just need a little bit more. And for some reason i see like one or two random specs of glitter on my face when I apply it alone. It’s not a chunky glittery product though.

img_5818

These have a light, sheer coverage, very wearable. Now the question I expect will be asked is

“Is it travel friendly?”

Yes and no.

Yes, in that the product itself goes on seamlessly, and dries down afterwards so it doesn’t just smear off so on days when you just want some sculpting and highlight, maybe with a light foundation and cream blush, you’re good to go.

img_5819

However, the packaging is not as travel friendly as the actual product. With most cushion products, it’s made for on the go use, or easy touch ups, etc. and will have it in a flip open packaging so there aren’t any pieces to keep track of or mess. With THIS packaging, it doesn’t flip up. it’s like a cap you unscrew, then instead of flipping open the actual cushion, you have to pull it off , then take the sponge or brush you would use and apply it. When I was doing this in the car, it seemed like alot of hassle for no reason. it wasn’t unbearable, but it was definitely harder than wanted it to be. Would I repurchase? the contour, yes. the highlight, maybe, if there were other shades. it’s not a life-changing highlight for me, but it isn’t a bad one either.

Although I haven’t yet picked up these things, I wanted to also show you some of the other products on the new display.

 

In the top left corner is a display for the new Wet N Wild Megalast Liquid Catsuit Matte Lipsticks.

In the top right, and bottom left corners are the new Get The Skinny mascara, and felt tip eyeliner

Finally, in the bottom right corner are new eyeliner shades! (I think they’re new, but they may just be new to me.)

These are not even all the new Wet N Wild products, and that’s just from one brand! Stay tuned for more posts and make sure to follow me on Instagram @SageSlays for makeup looks, new product alerts, funny posts, and much more.

I’ll see you in my next post. Slay the day away!

XOXO, Sage Slays

Leave a Reply

