30 Day Makeup Challenge: Day 5 – 13

DAY 5: FAVORITE LIPSTICK, LIP GLOSS, LIP LINER

This question is literally almost impossible for me! Lip products are my favorite and I have so many that I love! I’M STUCK! But I will try and answer this kind of.

For lipstick, I’m really just racking my brain trying to pick one. I will say that my favorite lipstick line right now is an oldie but a goodie; the Wet N’ Wild Megalast Lipsticks. They are so creamy and comfortable, but it lasts on the lips and the color range is amazing! You can find so many dupes in that line. My favorite shades right now are Spiked w/ Rum, Sandstorm, Wine Room, and Smokin’ Hot Pink. The Jordana Matte Lipsticks are a top favorite, and I also love theΒ NYX matte lipsticks. The shade Sienna is a favorite for me now.Β Right now I’ve also been wearing the Maybelline Lipstick in “Stormy Sahara” so much. It’s a great warm peachy nude.

Lipgloss, again, very hard to choose. A lipgloss that I think is so amazing, versatile, and fierce, would be the Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie lip gloss in Hypnotist. It’s a transforming top coat that looks like a lavender duochrome almost, but it comes out as a gorgeous peach shade. It transforms on top of any lip product, and the formula is great. plus, the smell is so great, like vanilla and mint! I don’t know if it’s my top favorite lip gloss ever, but it’s up there. Another lip gloss I like is the Sephora Collection Lipglosses.Β  The formula of these are not sticky, but they have enough tack to last on your lips. I have the shades Fresh Peach and Nude Alert, and Fresh Peach looks great on so many lipsticks, it’s a shimmery golden peach shade, and Nude Alert is a warm nude with slight gold shimmer. The butter glosses are great too!

Lip Liner is pretty easy, since I’m not really into them as much. I love the Milani lip liner in Spice, it’s a gorgeous warm nude shade, which is right up my alley.

DAY 6: DO YOU LIKE/WEAR FALSE LASHES? STRIP OR INDIVIDUAL?

I don’t wear false lashes that much. I’ve only worn them twice in my life! I do think that they add something extra to a dramatic look and would love to wear them occasionally. I don’t have short lashes, I actually love the lashes I was blessed with! They aren’t like doll lashes, but they aren’t very short, and have natural curl to them so I usually stick with a good mascara mostly. Also my mom is always telling me not to mess with lashes, that they’ll rip out my lashes, or that they might irritate my eye, all kinds of craziness! But I do want to experiment with them, and get better at applying them.

DAY 7: FAVORITE EYESHADOW COLOR

These questions are making me feel like I have to make some hard life decisions. Again, and I know it’s lame, but I can’t fully decide! I’ll tell you some of my favorites though. L’oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Amber Rush is GORGEOUS! It’s the right shade of rose gold. Not too pink, or gold. It looks so nice on my lid, and makes any look so glamourous. Plus, it looks good on so many different skin tones. In the Vegas Nay Palette, The shades Showgirl (A metallic warm gold) and Girl’s Night (A matte warm marsala) are two of my absolute favorites.

DAY 8: FAVORITE DAYTIME LOOK

I don’t have a regular daytime look. I used to when I was in high school. champagne gold on the lid, thick winged liner, and whatever kind of lipstick. Now, I don’t really care if I’m going to a party, or to the supermarket. I always do my makeup fiercely. No, i’m not the type to never be seen without makeup. I’ll be on snapchat with no makeup, I’ll go to a restaurant with nothing on but moisturizer. I do it because makeup is one of my favorite things to do. I LOVE to say “today I’ll do this” or “I loved what (…) did on youtube, let me see if I can do that” or just “I want to wear purple. let’s do all purple”. It’s so stimulating, it’s like art. My face is my canvas, and everyday I can make new art, and the best part is that nothing is stuck permanently. You can always do it again, better, the next day. So I really am just ALWAYS doing new looks.

My favorite kinds of looks though have a blended out warm brown crease, a showstopping shimmery lid color, winged liner, excessive highlighter, and a warm brown-y nude shade on the lips. If I have no time though, like literally none, I can’t even do makeup in the passenger seat, then I’ll do brows, mascara, shimmery eyeshadow in the inner corner, and a statement lip.

DAY 9: PHOTO OF YOUR MAKEUP COLLECTION

Sorry guys, there was a problem adding the photos to this post. Besides, my makeup drawers are chaotic! There is however, a description of where I keep my makeup below, if you want to know more about little ol’ me… πŸ™‚

DAY 10: FAVORITE MAKEUP BRUSH

I can’t pick one! The one’s that have been staples in my makeup routine, are my ecotools face brush (which I discussed in my Jan/Feb favorites). It’s super soft, and does so many different things. I also love the E.l.f. Ultimate Blending Brush, it applies foundation like a dream! The E.l.f. Flawless Concealer brush is GREAT for applying highlighter. and for blending out and applying eyeshadow, I am currently obsessed with using two of the eyeshadow brushes from the Sonia Kashuk Facet-nating 2015 holiday set. One is a fluffy blending brush, the other is a large eyeshadow brush, and they work really well when blending out certain eyeshadows.

DAY 11: DO YOU LIKE WEARING BRONZER? WHAT BRAND?

If you asked me this two years ago I would have said HELL NO! I’m black! What do I need bronzer for? However, I’ve realized that even as a woman of color, bronzer can help. Bronzer is sometimes thought to be used to make you darker, or more tan, but it’s used to help you look more…bronzey. more healthy. It warms up your face, and makes your face look slimmer. However, me and bronzer still have some issues. I can’t normally find a bronzer to show up on me, and I’m not that dark. That really is something that needs to be taken care of, because I feel like even women of color can benefit from bronzer. My favorite bronzer is from the Elf blush/bronzer duo. I love so many different shades, but right now I’m loving Fiji, which is a matte duo.

DAY 12: FAVORITE MASCARA

I don’t want to make my other mascara’s feel bad, but they’ll understand. The one that’s given me surprisingly great results that just made me so impressed, was the L’oreal Telescopic Mascara. I got it in the gray tube, which I don’t see anywhere. I’ve been trying to buy another one, and I usually don’t repurchase things unless they’re amazing, because I always want to find the next big thing. Does anyone else do that?

DAY 13: WHERE DO YOU KEEP YOUR MAKEUP?

In my room. I’m a dork, so I like to be close to my makeup. They’re like my babies. Sometimes I just take a few products and will throw them on my bed and swatch them. (don’t judge me.) I keep most of my makeup in a plastic storage drawer thingy, I labeled it with sparkly pink cardstock. But then I got more, so I put some on a table near my nightstand because I used to get ready on my bed. THEN I put my palettes in another little box at the foot of my bed with some of my other things, THEN I recently made some space on my bookshelf/wardrobe for a bunch of my makeup, and cleared out a drawer. And I STILL stay looking for space! Yes I have a problem, No, I am not willing to stop.

Alright guys! That’s it for this suupeer long post. Sorry I missed these past few days, I’ve been dealing with somethings in my personal life. But, I am trying to post VERY often, so much so that you’ll get sick of me! If you want to participate in the 30 day makeup challenge, go to my previous challenge post, which is where all the questions are posted.

I’ll see you in my next post!

XO, Sage Slays

Leave a Reply

